What will happen to the dead people's social media accounts

What will happen to the dead people's social media accounts
Jun 02, 2021

Perhaps you have also thought that what happens to their social media accounts after someone's death. Are these accounts closed or are they left as it is. So for this question I have collected this information for you. After someone's death, these three things can happen to their social media accounts. First, the social media account should be left as it is, second the account should be closed after informing the company concerned, third the legacy of the account should be handed over to someone and the account should be made a memorial.

First of all, let's talk about the first point in which the account has been left as it is after doing the basic update. For this, you can see the account of late actor Sushant Singh Rajput. His Twitter and Instagram accounts have been left the same. There is no change in them and no new post. But on his Facebook page, two posts have been made about a website named SelfMusing, built in his memory. Also in the About section, the information of his death has been updated, with the date of birth and death, it has been written that he was a famous Indian artist. This update may have been done by his PR team or by someone close to him who would have access to his page. All three accounts have been left as it is.

On what are the ways of Facebook and Instagram, Facebook and Instagram have given detailed information on their help page. According to these companies, you can close the account by giving information about someone's death. For this, you will have to fill a form, in this form your name, your email, the name of the deceased, their username, their link, the date of death, and the death certificate, will have to be uploaded. After verifying this information, the respective account will be closed.

Now coming to the memorial account, what is this? To give information about the death of the user to Facebook or Instagram, you will also have to fill the above form, that is, the form we have told about. On receiving the information, the social media platforms will convert the account into a memorial account, in which case the word remembering is added to the name of the user, i.e. we are now remembering them, or they are being remembered As it comes. If the user has given permission to the posts of others on the Facebook timeline, then by tagging them, whoever writes the message for them, will appear on their page. The notification of his birthday will not go to the people, nor will his name appear in the friend suggestions. Once an account has been converted into a memorial account on Instagram, no changes can be made to it but, there is an option of legacy contact on Facebook.

Now we have come to the last point, which is the legacy contact, what is this? Many users want their accounts to continue running after their death, so Facebook gives them the option to choose a legacy contact. On receiving his information after his death, this platform will convert his account into a memorial account and give Legacy Contact the right to handle his account. However, they will also have limited access to their account. Keep in mind that the legacy contact of any user can be the same that the user has chosen for it. After the death of the user, no person can apply to become their legacy contact. After someone's death, their family members can apply to memorialize or delete the account.

What can Legacy Contact do? If you are a legacy contact of an account, then you

  1. Profile or photo cover can be changed.
  2. If there is any last message from that user, then you can pin it to the top by posting it.
  3. You cannot send a friend request to anyone, but if a friend request has come, then you can take action on it.
  4. You can see all the posts made by the user. Only me too.
  5. Tags can be removed. You can delete someone else's post on their timeline.
  6. You can also apply to delete the account.
  7. You cannot log in to their account.
  8. Their messages cannot be read.
  9. Can't remove any of the user's friends from their friends' list.

Now coming to Twitter, according to the information available on Twitter, if a Twitter user dies, then the company can deactivate the account at the behest of their family. For this, a request has to be submitted, the id and death certificate of the person involved will have to be submitted, after that the account is closed. As we told you earlier that the account can be left as it is. Twitter has clearly written that in any case, it does not give access to the account to anyone else, that is, like Facebook, there is no option to create a memorial account or legacy contact on Twitter. However, we have seen that the Twitter of some person is still active even after his death. In such a situation, it is possible that someone close to them has the details of their account, by logging in with their help, they are running their account.

Now one more question, what is the provision in Google? According to Google, many people pass away without deciding anything about their accounts. In such a situation, the people of his family can close his account, in such a situation the death certificate of the person who died, his id, and other information will have to be provided to Google. After verifying all this information, Google will close the account. If you also want to close the YouTube channel of the deceased, then the same process has to be followed. By the way, Google gives you an option that you will decide after how much time of inactivity your account should be deleted. If you tell Google this time for 6 months and there is no activity in your account for 6 consecutive months, then Google will automatically close your account.

Now tell you that no such information has been provided by WhatsApp, what will happen to the account after death. However, in such a situation, the person who has the mobile phone can obviously delete the account and can also use it.

Recent Blog

Kubota Tractor
Feb 27, 2021
By using our services you agree to our use of cookies. Learn More